Category Archives: Uncategorized

List of Parliamentary Candidates in the General Election with their emails

Below is the candidates standing in the General Election in key constituencies impacted by Heathrow, together with their emails where they are available.   Feel free to email them to ask their views on a 3rd runway, on flight paths, on night flights or any other related topic. 


Hornsey and Wood Green

Lynne Featherstone MP, Lib Dem, Lynne@LynneFeatherstone.org

Catherine West, Lab, contact@catherinewest.org.uk

Clive Morrison, UKIP, clivemorrisonukip@gmail.com

Suhail Rahuja, Con, suhail.rahuja@manchesterconservatives.com

Gordon Peters, Green, gordon.peters@hornseywoodgreen.greenparty.org.uk

Marc Vandal, ClassWar

Dulwich and West Norwood

Helen Hayes, Lab, helen@helenhayes.org.uk

James Barber, Lab, cllrjamesbarber@gmail.com

Resham Kotecha, Con, reham4dwn@gmail.com

Rathy Alagarathan, UKIP

Rashid Nix, Green

 Runnymede and Weybridge

Philip Hammond MP, Con, hammondp@parliament.uk

Arran Neathey, Lab,

John Vincent, Lib Dem, john.vincent@john-vincent.org.uk ;

Rustam Majainah, Green, rustam.majainah@greenparty.org.uk

 Spelthorne

Kwasi Kwarteng MP, Con, kwasi.kwarteng.mp@parliament.uk

Paul Jacobs, Green, paul.jacobs@greenparty.org.uk

Redvers Cunningham, UKIP, redvers.cuningham@me.com

Rosie Shimell, Lib Dem,

Rebecca Geach, Lab,

 Streatham

Chuka Umunna MP, Lab, chuka.umunna.mp@parliament.uk

Amna Ahmad, Lib Dems, amna@lambethlibdems.org

Kim Caddy, Con,

Bruce Machan, UKIP

Jonathan Bartley, Green, jonathan.bartley@greenparty.org.uk

Unjum Mirza, TUSC,

 Twickenham

Vince Cable MP, Lib Dem,  cablev@parliament.uk

Tania Mathias, Con, tania@tania4twickenham.co.uk ;

Nick Grant, Lab, nick4twick@gmail.com

Tanya Williams, Green, tanya.williams@greenparty.org.uk

Barry Edwards, UKIP,   email@barryedwards.info

Vauxhall

Kate Hoey MP, Lab, hoeyk@parliament.uk

Adrian Trett, Lib Dems, Adrian.trett@gmail.com

James Bellis, Con, vca@tory.org

Gulnar Hasnain, Green, gulnar.hasnain@greenparty.org.uk

Ace Nnorom, UKIP

Bermondsey

 Simon Hughes MP, Lib Dem, simon@simonhughes.org.uk

Neil Coyle, Lab, Neil.Coyle@neilcoyle.org.uk

Jean-Paul Flora, Con, jpflora@gmail.com

Rosamund Beattie, UKIP

William Lavin, Green, william.lavin@greenparty.org.uk

Kingsley Abrams, TUSC

 Beaconsfield

Dominic Grieve MP, Con, grieved@parliament.uk

Peter Chapman, Lib Dems, peter.pjchapman@btopenworld.com

Tim Scott, UKIP

Dave Hampton, Green, dave@carboncoach.com

Westminster North

Karen Buck MP, Lab, buckk@parliament.uk

Lindsey Hall, Con, campaigns@lindseyhall.co.uk

Jennifer Nadal, Green, jennifernadal@yahoo.com

Nigel Sussman, UKIP

Kirsty Allen, Lib Dem

Cities of London

Mark Field MP, Con, fieldm@parliament.uk

Belinda Brookes-Gordon, Lib Dem,  b.brookes-gordon@bbk.ac.uk

Nick Slingsby, Lab,

Hugh Small, Green, hugh.small@greenparty.org.uk

Bracknell

Philip Lee MP, Con, philip.lee.mp@parliament.uk

Patrick Smith, Lib Dem, patrick.smith@bracknelllibdems.org.uk

James Walsh, Lab,

Richard Thomas, UKIP, richardthomas@ukipbracknell.co.uk

Derek Florey, Green

Wimbledon

Stephen Hammond MP, Con, hammonds@parliament.uk

Shas Sheehan, Lib Dem, shas@shassheehan.org.uk

Andrew Judge, Lab, wimbledonandrew@gmail.com

Peter Bucklitsch, UKIP, peter.oddlyoak@googlemail.com

Ealing Southall

Virenda Sharma MP, Lab, sharmav@parliament.uk

James Symes, Con, jamessymes@gmail.com

John Poynton, UKIP, john@ukip-ealing-southall.org

Kavya Kaushik, Lib Dem, kavya.p.kaushik@gmail.com

Jaspreet Mahal, Green, jaspreet.mahal@greenparty.org.uk

Hammersmith

Andy Slaughter MP, Lab, slaughtera@parliament.uk

Charlie Dewhirst, Con

Millicent Scott, Lib Dems, millicentscottlibdem@gmail.com

David Akan, Green, david.akan@greenparty.org.uk

Richard Wood, UKIP,  richard@building-trade.com

Uxbridge

Boris Johnson, Con, admin@hillingdonconservatives.org ;

Jack Duffin, UKIP,  jackduffinwork@gmail.com

Graham Lee, Green, graham.lee@greenparty.org.uk

Michael Cox, Lib Dem mikecox1@btinternet.com

Chris Summers, Lab, chrissummers4942@btinternet.com

Putney

Justine Greening MP, Con, greeningj@parliament.uk,

Sheila Boswell, Lab, boswellsheila@me.com

Chris Poole, Green, chris.poole@greenparty.org.uk

Andy Hallett, Lib Dems, andrewjhallett@gmail.com

Battersea

Jane Ellison MP, Con, jane@janeellison.net

Will Martindale, Lab, will@willtowin.org.uk

Joe Stuart, Green, joe.stuart@greenparty.org.uk

Luke Taylor, Lib Dems, luke.taylor104@gmail.com

Chris Howe, UKIP

Fulham

Greg Hands MP, Con, mail@greghands.com

Alexandra Sanderson

Guy Rubin, Green, guy.rubin@greenparty.org.uk

Simon Bailey, Lib Dem

Kensington

Rod Abouharb, Lab, kensingtonlabour@gmail.com

Robin McGhee, Lib Dem, robinmaxcghee@gmail.com

Robina Rose, Green, robina.rose@greenparty.org.uk

Kingston

Ed Davey MP, edward@edwarddavey.co.uk

James Berry, Con, office@kingstonconservatives.com

Lee Godfrey, Lab, contact@leegodfrey.info

Ben Roberts, UKIP

Clare Keogh, Green, claire.keogh@greenparty.org.uk

Laurel Fogarty, TUSC, Kingston.TUSC@hotmail.com

Slough

Fiona Mactaggart MP, Lab, mactaggartf@parliament.uk

Gurchuran Singh, Con, gs@gurchuransingh.co.uk

Ken Wight, UKIP, kenwright@yahoo.co.uk

Tom McCann, Lib Dem, tom.mccann@sloughlibdemsorg.uk

Windsor

Adam Afriyie MP, Con, afriyiea@parliament.uk

Fiona Dent, Lab, fionadentlabour@btinternet.com

Derek Wall, Green, wallddd@hotmail.com

Widom da Costa, Independent, wisdomdacosta@hotmail.co.uk

George Fussey, Lib Dems, george.fussey@windsorlibdems.org.uk

Hayes and Harlington

John McDonnell MP, Lab, mcdonnellj@parliament.uk

Pearl Lewis, Con, pearl4hayes@outlook.com

Cliff Dixon, UKIP, cliff.dixon@englishpatriot.co.uk

Alick Munro, Green, alick@munro.com

Richmond Park and North Kingston

Zac Goldsmith MP, Con,  zac@zacgoldsmith.com

Robin Meltzer, Lib Dem, robin@robinmeltzer.com

Sachin Patel, Lab, sachin@sachin4richmondpark.org.uk

Andree Friexe, Green, andree.frisze@greenparty.org.uk

Sam Naz, UKIP

Ealing and Acton

Angie Bray MP, Con, angie.bray.mp@parliament.uk

Rupa Huq, Lab, rupahuq@ealinglabour.com

Tom Sharman, Green, tom4ealing@greenparty.org.uk

Peter Florence, UKIP

Jon Ball, Lib Dem, jonball@cix.co.uk

Brentford and Isleworth

Mary Macleod MP, Con, mary.macleod.mp@parliament.uk

Ruth Cadbury, Lab, ruth.cadbury@gmail.com

Joseph Bourke, Lib Dem, j.bourke@bourkeaccounts.com

Daniel Goldsmith, Green,  daniel.goldsmith@greenparty.org.uk

Richard Hendron, (hendronrichard@hotmail.com),

Feltham and Heston

Seema Malhotra MP, Lab, seema.malhotra.mp@parliament.uk

Simon Nayyar, Con, info@simonnayyar.com

Roger Crouch, Lib Dem, rmcrouch33@gmail.com

Tony Firkins, Green, tony.firkins@greenparty.org.uk

Peter Dul, UKIP

 Bethnal Green and Bow

Ali Rushanara MP       Lab        rushanara@rushanaraali.org

Matthew Smith            Con         matt4bgb@gmail.com

Teena Lashmore        Lib Dems

Alastair Polson          Green       dan.lee@towerhamlets.greenparty.org.uk

Glyn Robbins, TUSC,

  Poplar and Limehouse

Jim Fitzpatrick MP      Lab        fitzpatrickj@parliament.uk

Christopher Wilford     Con        wilford2015@gmail.com

Elaine Bagshaw           Lib Dem

Maureen Childes        Green Party, maureen.childs@greenparty.org.uk

  Leyton and Wanstead

John Cryer MP         Lab        john.cryer@unitetheunion.com

Matthew Scott          Con         matthew.scott@leytonandwanstead.co.uk

Martin Levin            UKIP       martinlevin@hotmail.co.uk

Ashley Gunstock    Green      ashley.gunstock@btinternet.com

Carl Quillian          Lib Dem

  East Ham

Stephen Timms MP Labour    stephen@stephentimmsorg.uk

Tamsin Omond     Green         info@thecommons.com

Samir Jassal        Con

Lois Austin          TUSC

David Thorpe,   Lib Dem

 West Ham

Lyn Brown MP   Lab             lyn@lynbrown.org.uk

Festus Akinbbusoye Con     festus@fest4westham.com

Jane Lithgow    Green         jane.lithgow@greenparty.org.uk

Paul Reynolds Lib Dems     paulemreynolds@gmail.com

 Hornchurch

Angela Watkinson MP  Con  info@hx-upmtory.com

Paul McGeary     Lab

Lawrence Webb  UKIP        lawrencewebb@btinternet.com

Melanie Collins   Green       melanie.collins@greenparty.org.uk

  Eltham

Clive Efford MP  Lab       clive@cliveefford.org.uk

Alex Cunliffe     Lib Dem   Alex4Eltham@gmail.com

Peter Whittle   UKIP        info@peterwhittle.org

Spencer Drury  Con       spencer@spencerdrury.com

 Lewisham East

Heidi Alexander MP  Lab   heidi@heidialexander.org.uk

Peter Fortune    Con          peter@peterfortune.co.uk

Julia Fletcher   Lib Dem    julia.fletcher@virginmedia.com

Storm Poorun Green       storm.poorun@greenparty.org.uk

  Lewisham West

Jim Dowd MP   Lab      jimdowd.newlabour@care4free.net

Russell Jackson  Con   russell@russel-jackson.co.uk

Tom Chance  Green    tom.chance@greenparty.org.uk

Alex Feakes Lib Dem  alex@alexfeakes.org

Martin Powell  TUSC

  Lewisham Deptford

Vicky Foxcroft      Lab      vickyfoxcroft@hotmail.com

Birn Afolami         Con       birmafolami2@gmail.com

Michael Bukola     Lib Dem michaelbukola@hotmail.com

John Coughlin    Green     cllr_john.coughlin@lewisham.gov.uk

Chris Flood       TUSC

 Greenwich

Matthew Pennycook Lab matthew@matthewpennycook.com

Matt Hartley            Con  matt@matthartley.org.uk

Ryan Acty              UKIP ryan@ryanacty.org.uk

Abbey Akinoshun   Green  hello@abbey4mp.org

Walthamstow

Stella Creasy MP, Lab, stella.creasy.mp@parliament.uk

Steven Cheung, Lib Dem,

Molly Samual-Leport, Con,

Nancy Taffe, TUSC,

Paul Hillman, UKIP

Michael Gold, Green, michael.gold@greenparty.org.uk

Hackney South and Shoreditch

Meg Hillier MP, Lab, votemeghillier@hotmail.com

Charlotte George, Green, charlotte.george@greenparty.org.uk

Ben Mathis, Lib Dem, ben@hackneylibdems.org

Jack Tinley, Con, jack4hackney@gmail.com

Angus Small, UKIP

Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Diane Abbott MP, Lab, chalkiasg@parliament.uk

Heather Finlay, Green, contactus@hackney.greenparty.org.uk

Amy Gray, Con, amygrayforhachneynorth@gmail.com

Simon de Deney, Lib Dem, simon@simondedeney.org

Keith Fraser, UKIP, keith.fraser@ukiplocal.org

Islington South and Finsbury

Emily Thornberry MP, Lab, emily@islingtonsouth.org.uk

Charlie Kiss, Green, Charlie.kiss@greenparty.org.uk

Peter Muswell, UKIP, pete.muswell@ukip-islington.gov.uk

Terry Stacey, Lib Dems,

Mark Lim, Con,

Islington North

Jeremy Corbyn MP, Lab, jeremy@islingtonlabour.org.uk

Caroline Russell, Green, caroline.russell@greenparty.org.uk

Julian Gregory, Lib Dem, julian.gregory@islington-libdemds.org.uk

Alex Burghart, Con,

Hampstead and Kilburn

Tulip Siddiq, Lab, tulip@tulipsiddiq.com

Simon Marcus, Con, simonmarcus2003@yahoo.co.uk

Maajid Nawaz, Lib Dem, MaajidNawaazHK@gmail.com

Rebecca Johnson, Green, Rebecca.johnson@greenparty.org.uk

Magnus Neilson, UKIP

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

London outstripping all world cities as an aviation hub

London is outstripping all world cities as an aviation hub.  It debunks the capacity crunch myth.  Far from Britain declining as an aviation superpower, the capital’s global lead over every other city in the world is increasing.

Despite the “capacity crunch” at the capital’s airport, figures compiled by The Independent reveal that London remains the world’s top airline hub by a wide margin – and is racing ahead of its closest rival, New York.

A record 144.7m passengers flew through London’s five commercial airports in 2014. The figure translates to an average of 275 people – or one wide-bodied aircraft – arriving or departing every minute of every day of the year. The capital is 23 per cent ahead of New York, which has three airports.

The Independent has analysed passenger figures for the 20 key aviation cities, aggregating the traffic for all airports serving each metropolis. London’s catchment comprises Heathrow, Gatwick, Stansted, Luton and London City. Flight movements at Heathrow have reached their effective limit at 1,290 per day, and the airport’s passenger figures are now dwarfed by Atlanta and Beijing. Yet Heathrow grew 1.7 per cent thanks to larger aircraft. Combined with rapid growth at the capital’s other airports, London put on almost seven million passengers during the year, a rise of 5 per cent.

Read the full article:  http://ind.pn/1EcVggf .

HACAN reveals: 3rd runway could mean 13 hours of non-stop flying

If a third runway is built some areas will experience 13 hours of non-stop flying – a plane every 90 seconds.  These will include places under the new flight path like Harlington and Brentford.  It would also apply to places such as Richmond under the approach to the southern runway.

History of HACAN

HACAN started life in the 1960s as KACAN, Kew Association for the Control of Aircraft Noise. Within 10 years the acronym altered and we became HACAN, Heathrow Association for the Control of Aircraft Noise.

Both organisations always recognised that Heathrow has a contribution to make to the national economy, and to the London’s local economy. We have never opposed Heathrow per se. Our aim has been to represent the concerns of the residents under the flight paths and around the airport.

HACAN became HACAN ClearSkies in 1999/2000 as aircraft noise became a serious problem for the first time in areas of London and the Thames Valley much further away from Heathrow. People are troubled by aircraft noise who live over 20 miles from the airport. There was a change in the way the aircraft were brought into land in 1996, bringing noise to these new areas. This was done in secret, without consultation or warning with the local councils or the local communities.  Subsequently went back to just calling ourselves HACAN.

We believe that residents have been betrayed by successive governments.

In 1978, the Inspector at the Terminal 4 Public Inquiry recommended the go-ahead for the terminal, but with a strict limit on the number of flights. Within a short time of the terminal opening (in the late 1980s) that limit had ben ignored.

In the 1990s we fought the longest Public Enquiry in UK history – lasting nearly 4 years – against Terminal 5. In 2001, the Inspector recommended the go-ahead for Terminal 5, but with a limit of 480,000 flights per year. The Government accepted the limit, but within 9 months it had put out for consultation proposals for a 3rd runway which would have increased the annual number of flights to 655,000. Terminal 5 in due to be open in 2007.

HACAN  has gone to the highest court in Europe over night flights.

In 2001 the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg found in our favour, and against the Government. It agreed that night flights were an infringement of our human right to a good night’s sleep. But the Government appealed and the court upheld the appeal in July 2003. 

HACAN ClearSkies now works with protest groups across the UK and all over Europe.

We are not in the business of ‘exporting our misery’ to somebody else. We believe that the only hope to bring a halt to the incessant pressure for expansion of Heathrow is a change of direction in European policy.. We argue that, if the substantial tax concessions the industry receives each year were phased out, Governments could manage demand.

 

Coalition re-forms to oppose 3rd runway

A coalition has been formed to oppose any plans for a third runway at Heathrow. The Airports Commission, set up by the Government, is looking at two options for a 3rd runway at Heathrow, in addition to the option of a 2nd runway at Gatwick. Still on the table is the option of an Isle of Grain airport on the Kent Coast. The Commission is currently doing further work on all these shortlisted options. It will ask for further comments in the autumn. Its final report will be out in summer 2015 but, whatever its recommendation, the final decision will be up to the Government of the day.

Read about the options in more detail in the HACAN newsletter.

Keep checking this website for details of the emerging campaign against the third runway.

Below is a list of Public Meetings already organised:

4th February: Richings Park Residents’ Association hosting a meeting (Richings Park, not affected at present, would likely be under a flight path if a 3rd runway were built), Richings Park Sports Club, Wellesley Avenue, SLO 9BN at 7.30pm. HACAN amongst the speakers.

6th February: Justine Greening (last time round one of the most staunch members of our coalition) is holding a public meeting St Mary’s Church in Putney at 7 for 7.30 pm. John Stewart and Wandsworth Council leader Ravi Govinda speaking.

22nd February: UKIP are holding an anti-3rd runway meeting in Harlington, starting at 6.30pm.

11th March: 7.30pm at the Church Hall rear of Cranford Baptist Church, 1 Firs Drive, Cranford, TW5 9TD.