Campaigners and politicians to deliver letter to PM to ask him to keep his promise not to build a third runway

Press Release

30/1/15 for immediate use

 Campaigners link up with cross-party group of politicians to remind David Cameron to stick to his promise on 3rd runway

 Downing Street event on February 3rd

 At 2pm on February 3rd (1), to mark the end of the current consultation by the Airports Commission, a cross-party group of MPs, accompanied by campaigners from across London (2), will hand in a letter (3) to Number 10 urging the Prime Minister to stick to his promise made before the 2010 General Election, “No ifs; no buts; there will be no third runway.”  Between 1.30pm and 2pm a larger group of anti-third runway campaigners will gather in Whitehall outside the gates of Downing Street.  They will include people from the Heathrow villages whose homes will be demolished if a new runway is built as well as members of the Green Party and UKIP.

John Stewart, chair of the campaign group HACAN, said, “We are deliberately targeting Downing Street because the decision about a new runway will be a political one.  The politicians can override whatever recommendations the Airports Commission will come up with in the summer.”

Stewart added, “This event once again demonstrates the cross-party nature of the opposition to a third runway.  It also shows the geographical spread of the current problems caused by Heathrow which can only get worse if a new runway is built.  Representatives of groups from as far apart as Brockley and Teddington will be going into Downing Street.”


 Notes for Editors:

 (1). The delegation will be outside Number 10 at 2pm.  A group of campaigners and supporters will be outside the gates in Whitehall from about 1.30pm but, note, this is not a mass demonstration.  However, the event will provide good photo-opportunities.

(2). Politicians going into Downing Street will include Adam Afyie, Angie Bray, Zac Goldsmith, Caroline Lucas, Mary Macleod , John McDonnell, and John Randall.  The campaign groups will be represented by John Stewart, HACAN; Neil Keveren, Stop Heathrow Expansion (representing the Heathrow villages); Natasha Fletcher, Teddington Action Group; Elise Parkin; Brockley Aircraft Noise; and Peter Willan, Richmond Heathrow Campaign

(3). This is the text of the letter:

Dear Prime Minister,

We call on you to remember the promise that you made before the last General Election: “No ifs; no buts; there will be no Third Runway” and to reject any plans that might come forward for a third runway at Heathrow.

Yours sincerely,

Adam Afryie MP

Angie Bray MP

Zac Goldsmith MP

Kate Hoey

Caroline Lucas MP

Mary Macleod MP

John McDonnell MP

John Randall

Andy Slaughter MP

Baroness Jenny Tonge

John Stewart, Chair HACAN

Neil Keveren, Chair Stop Heathrow Expansion

Natasha Fletcher, Teddington Action Group

Elise Parkin; Brockley Aircraft Noise;

Peter Willan, Chair Richmond Heathrow Campaign

For further information:  John Stewart on 0207 737 6641 or 07957385650